AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE

■ EMBO Members

Baden-Württemberg Research Prize

Dieter Wolf, of the Institute for Biochemistry at the University of Stuttgart, is co-recipient of the Baden-Württemberg Research Prize. Prof. Wolf receives the prize for his research, spanning over 30 years, for groundbreaking results in the area of regulated protein degradation in cells.

Diplôme d'Honneur,

Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS) *Frank Gannon*, Director General of Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), was awarded the Diplôme d'Honneur in July 2007 at the FEBS Congress in Vienna in honour of his "exceptional contribution" to European science and to FEBS activities.

EMBO Gold Medal 2007,

European Molecular Biology Organization Jan Löwe, of the Medical Research Council's Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, UK, receives this award in recognition of his landmark work elucidating the structure and function of proteins involved in bacterial cell division.

EMET Prize in Bio-Chemistry,

AMN Foundation

Yosef Yarden, of the Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot, Israel, receives this award for his original and significant contribution to unravelling the biochemical mechanism in the development and multiplication of the cancerous cell, and particularly the role of growth factor receptors and signal transmitters.

Erwin Schroedinger Prize,

Austrian Academy of Sciences

Thomas Jenuwein, of the Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP) in Vienna, receives this prize in honour of his outstanding contributions to molecular biology. The discoveries of Prof. Dr. Jenuwein and his team are of major significance to the rapidly expanding field of Epigenetics.

ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award

The Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI) was awarded the ESMO Lifetime Achievement Award in July 2007 for its outstanding achievements in the area of Translational Research in Breast Cancer. *René Bernards*, Head of the Molecular Carcinogenesis Division of the Institute, and Dr *Laura van 't Veer*, Head of the Molecular Pathology Division, received the award on the institute's behalf.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2007,

Nobel Foundation

Sir Martin Evans, of Cardiff University, receives this award along with Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies for their discoveries of principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells.

Feltrinelli Prize 2007,

National Academy of Lincei

The Feltrinelli Prize 2007 for Biological Sciences has been awarded to *Emilia Chiancone*, Professor of Molecular Biology in the Medical Faculty of the University of Rome "La Sapienza", for her studies on the evolution of allosteric regulation.

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize,

German Research Foundation

Magdalena Götz, of the Institute of Stem Cell Research (ISF) and **Detlef Weigel**, of the Max Planck Institute for Developmental Biology, are recipients of the 2007 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, the highest honour awarded in German research.

Lautenschläger Research Prize 2007,

University of Heidelberg

Matthias Hentze and Andreas Kulozik, received this award for their joint research work on disturbances to the processing and control of the transmission of genetic information within the cell, the so-called RNA metabolism, in frequent genetic diseases affecting haematopoiesis and blood coagulation.

Leopoldina Research Prize 2007,

The German Academy of Sciences

Nikolaus Pfanner, University of Freiburg, received this prize for significant contributions to the study of intracellular protein sorting and translocation and in particular for his research on mitochondrial biogenesis.

Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine 2007,

Louis Jeantet Foundation

Venki Ramakrishnan, of the Medical Research Council's Laboratory of Molecular Biology, receives this prize in recognition of his research on the ribosome.

Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine 2007,

Louis Jeantet Foundation

Steven West, of Cancer Research UK's London Research Institute, has been awarded this prize for his pioneering work on DNA repair mechanisms.

2007 Prince of Asturias Award for Scientific and Technical Research,

The Prince of Asturias Foundation

Peter Lawrence, of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, and Ginés Morata, of the CSIC-UAM Centre of Molecular Biology in Madrid, have been jointly awarded this prize. Their pioneering research provides information on the phenomenon of organ and tissue regeneration and on programmed cell death, also known as apoptosis, which are indispensable in the study of ageing and cancer.

Prize of the President of the Republic,

National Academy of Lincei

Giuseppe Macino, Professor of Biology in the Medical Faculty at the University of Rome "La Sapienza", has been awarded this prize for his discoveries on the mechanism of gene silencing by micro RNAs.

Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award,

The Royal Society

Ottoline Leyser, of the Department of Biology at the University of York, receives this award in recognition of her groundbreaking work on plant hormones and how they control plant development.

Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences,

The Wiley Foundation

F. Ulrich Hartl, of the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry receives this award along with Arthur L. Horwich, for their elucidation of the molecular machinery that guides proteins into their proper functional shape, thereby preventing the accumulation of protein aggregates that underlie many diseases, such as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's.

2006/7 Wolf Foundation Prize in Chemistry, Wolf Foundation

Ada Yonath, from the Department of Structural Biology at the Weizmann Institute of Science has been jointly awarded this prize with George Feher, for ingenious structural discoveries of the ribosomal machinery of peptide-bond formation and the light-driven primary processes in photosynthesis.

■ EMBO Young Investigators

Charles Albert Shull Award,

American Society of Plant Biologists *Samuel C. Zeeman*, of ETH Zurich in Switzerland, receives this award for pioneering research leading to the discovery of new proteins and pathways in starch synthesis and degradation in leaves. This award is presented to a scientist under the age of 40 for outstanding investigations in the field of plant biology.

2008 Colworth Medal of the Biochemical Society

The prestigious 2008 Colworth Medal has been awarded to *John Rouse*, a principal investigator in the MRC Protein Phosphorylation Unit at the University of Dundee.

Eppendorf Young European Investigator Award Luca Scorrano, of the Dulbecco-Telethon Institute, was the 2006 recipient of this award. The Eppendorf Award for Young European Investigators is presented to young scientists for outstanding biomedical research based on methods of molecular biology.

European Young Investigator Awards (EURYI),

European Science Foundation

Terence Strick, of CNRS' Jacques Monod Institute, has been selected to receive one of this year's EURYI awards for his work on single-molecule studies of biological nano-machines.

Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award,

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation **Nektarios Tavernarakis**, has been granted a Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.